Ah, that is very different from failing. I should have known better than to quote Elisha on rules!mikem91 wrote: ↑Wed Dec 04, 2019 9:12 pmeh, maybe. if the referee makes them even roll for that. practically, a one "always fail", but that's not the wording. the wording is:
If you rolled a 20 on the die (a “natural 20”), your result
is one degree of success better than it would be by numbers
alone. If you roll a 1 on the d20 (a “natural 1”), your
result is one degree worse.
A true master's modifier would be so large that he'd still be plenty successful after that reduction. Though the loss of T10 and T20 is still quite vexing.